The seven Abhidhamma-books

The Abhidhamma Piṭaka is the third piṭaka (literally: basket) of the Tipiṭaka (three baskets), well-known as the Pāḷicanon of the Theravāda school of Buddhism. It consists of seven books as follow:
  1. Dhammasaṅgaṇī- Enumeration of the dhammas, 'Buddhist Psychological Ethics'
    Description of the fundamental, ultimate mental and physical phenomena constituting human experience.

  2. Vibhaṅga - 'The Book of Analysis'
    Exposition of the analysis in the Dhammasangaṇī in form of a catechism with many references in Suttanta.

  3. Dhātukathā - 'Discourse on Elements'
    Discription of the eighteen elements in sets of questions and answers. Similar substance like Dhammasangaṇī and Vibhaṇga.

  4. Puggalapaññatti - 'A Designation of Human Types'
    Description of the qualities of individuals and personality types. By differentiation suitable teachings and meditation-subjects can be given individually.

  5. Kathāvatthu - 'Points of Controversy'
    Collection of questions and orthodox answers in order to show superiority and distinguish Theravāda from other schools. Compiled by Moggaliputta Tissa after the 3rd Buddhist Council (3rd Century BC).

  6. Yamaka - The Book on Pairs
    Twisted and vice-versa Abhidhamma-questions and answers for deep understanding.

  7. Paṭṭhāna - The Book of Conditions or 'Conditional Relations'
    Explantion of the forces working between cause/condition and effect. Describing the laws of interaction of the dhammas analysed in Dhammasangaṇī, this is the great synthesis.,